Where I Can to Buy a Pomeranian Like Boo
- waterbottle1234 [OP]
- Newbie
- May 18, 2009
- 20 posts
- 1 upvote
Feb 23rd, 2011 12:17 am
[Merged] Where to buy pomeranian puppy?
Hi,
I'm really set on getting a pomeranian puppy soon. I've done extensive research on the breed and I think I could be a very good owner. The only problem is I have no idea where to get the puppy from!
It seems like the only two options are from the pet store or a professional dog breeder. There is a problem with each of these.
1. Pet Store = apparently I'm supporting puppy mills when buying a puppy from the pet store and I should NEVER EVER EVER buy a dog from a pet store??
2. Professional breeder = there aren't any in the GTA and I'd have to drive 3-6 hours to one. Also, these puppies typically costs $1000-3000!! AND there is a waiting list for these dogs and they only have litters once a year. AND on top of that, these dogs are the grandchildren and children of #1 in Canada dog show winners => I'm not looking for a showdog!, just a regular puppy will be fine.
(I know adoption is an option and I've looked at the THS and Petsmart adoption sites, but they don't have have puppies, let alone specifically pomeranian puppies. ALSO, I've read that it's better for first time owners not to adopt)
So where on Earth do I go about buying a dog?!?
Thanks!
- #2
- DarkCanuck
- Deal Addict
-
- Oct 20, 2008
- 1246 posts
- 246 upvotes
- Coquitlam, BC
Feb 23rd, 2011 1:16 am
waterbottle1234 wrote: ↑Hi,
I'm really set on getting a pomeranian puppy soon. I've done extensive research on the breed and I think I could be a very good owner. The only problem is I have no idea where to get the puppy from!
It seems like the only two options are from the pet store or a professional dog breeder. There is a problem with each of these.
1. Pet Store = apparently I'm supporting puppy mills when buying a puppy from the pet store and I should NEVER EVER EVER buy a dog from a pet store??
2. Professional breeder = there aren't any in the GTA and I'd have to drive 3-6 hours to one. Also, these puppies typically costs $1000-3000!! AND there is a waiting list for these dogs and they only have litters once a year. AND on top of that, these dogs are the grandchildren and children of #1 in Canada dog show winners => I'm not looking for a showdog!, just a regular puppy will be fine.(I know adoption is an option and I've looked at the THS and Petsmart adoption sites, but they don't have have puppies, let alone specifically pomeranian puppies. ALSO, I've read that it's better for first time owners not to adopt)
So where on Earth do I go about buying a dog?!?
Thanks!
Steer FAR FAR away from pet stores.
Find one here - http://www.petfinder.com/index.html
- #3
- joeyjoejoe
- Deal Guru
-
- May 9, 2006
- 12300 posts
- 2973 upvotes
Feb 23rd, 2011 9:58 am
+1 Don't go to pet stores!
I had a pom when I was a teenager. My sister really wanted one and my parents broke down and got one from a pet store. The dog was really tough to train. The reason for this is the really poor up bringing the pom had.... ripped away from mother too early. Fast forward 7 years, my dog developed arthirtis. After spending thousands on vet visits and pills, the vet said that he needs to be put out of his mystery. My sister was too attached and didn't want to put him down... He died a week later due to his illnesses. I believe that he died because he was a product of a puppy mill. Dogs are so inbred that they develop all sorts of health issues.
Yeah you save a few hundred now with pets stores, but it's very likely you end up paying much more down the line!
OP - Do as much research about the breed you want as where you get it from. It'll pay off in the long run...
- #4
- Crinkle_cut
- Deal Addict
- May 31, 2009
- 2623 posts
- 170 upvotes
Feb 23rd, 2011 2:40 pm
We got ours from Winterhaven Kennels in Ontario (close to Guelph - about a 1 hr drive from Toronto)
http://winterhaven.ca/
Our little guy is so cute, and he doesn't bark either. Only when the doorbell rings, or when we're playing fetch and he returns the toy to you and wants you to toss it again. We would definitely buy from here again, great place, great breeders, and the puppies have great demeanour. Our pomeranian also gets along with every kid who comes over, super friendly!
- #5
- Siye
- Sr. Member
- Oct 24, 2007
- 937 posts
- 151 upvotes
- BC
Feb 24th, 2011 12:58 am
Dude, if driving 3-6 hours for the pet that will live with your family for 10+ years is too big of a hassle, you shouldn't get one.
Finding the perfect dog for yourself/family should be a foremost priority done with not only a sense of responsibility but also because you really want to.
Trust me, going through hurdles to "get" your pet is just the very beginning.
- #6
- waterbottle1234 [OP]
- Newbie
- May 18, 2009
- 20 posts
- 1 upvote
Feb 25th, 2011 9:01 pm
^I didn't say I wasn't willing to drive 3-6 hours, but yes, I would find it a hassle. Of course I'd rather find a breeder that's closer, especially if I would need to bring the puppy to see the breeder for whatever reason.
Crinkle_cut wrote: ↑We got ours from Winterhaven Kennels in Ontario (close to Guelph - about a 1 hr drive from Toronto)
http://winterhaven.ca/
Our little guy is so cute, and he doesn't bark either. Only when the doorbell rings, or when we're playing fetch and he returns the toy to you and wants you to toss it again. We would definitely buy from here again, great place, great breeders, and the puppies have great demeanour. Our pomeranian also gets along with every kid who comes over, super friendly!
Oh actually I came across this breeder in my search. I'm so glad to hear your new puppy is such a joy! If you don't mind me asking, exactly how much did he cost? On the website, it said that pricing starts at $1500.
- #7
- biee
- Deal Addict
-
- Jun 4, 2009
- 2689 posts
- 111 upvotes
Feb 27th, 2011 12:10 am
Yess! Get a Pom is the way to go!
I had one a couple years back (until I was forced to give it someone else- moving from states to Canada reason), and I still miss my Pom. He was really intelligent, learned everything quick and was really easy to train.
However, the only downside was he always looked for food in the trashcan cause he enjoys food, lol. That was the only negative side but I'm sure it could have been fixed.
- #8
- teleguitar
- Deal Addict
- Oct 27, 2007
- 2272 posts
- 120 upvotes
Feb 27th, 2011 12:07 pm
Hey OP, Google is your friend. Just google 'Pomeranian breeders Ontario' or something like that. It is way better to search for a dog from a breeder. Research the breeder and try to find people who have bought from the breeder. That helps. Make sure the breeder has been active for a while and has good references.
I agree with inquiring with Winterhaven and there's someone on here who has bought a puppy from there so you can try asking him/her questions, too.
Here's some links:
http://www.pcoc.net/breeder-referral.htm
http://www.canadasguidetodogs.com/toys/pom_breeders.htm
Etc.
I have a Pom (well, my family has one ) although he's a bit larger than the average Pomeranian.
He's smart, too. Just be careful about feeding... they can get spoiled and I recommend you only feed him food in his bowl.
Treats are okay, but be careful.
- #9
- amz155
- Deal Fanatic
- May 14, 2009
- 6595 posts
- 1333 upvotes
Feb 27th, 2011 12:25 pm
Siye wrote: ↑Dude, if driving 3-6 hours for the pet that will live with your family for 10+ years is too big of a hassle, you shouldn't get one.
Finding the perfect dog for yourself/family should be a foremost priority done with not only a sense of responsibility but also because you really want to.
Trust me, going through hurdles to "get" your pet is just the very beginning.
+1.
Driving 3-6 hours to buy a pet from a very reputable breeder shouldn't turn you off. You shouldn't have to return to the breeder after you pick up the dog, unless the dog has some sort of health issue for which the breeder will let you return the dog.
And if paying $1000-$3000 for a dog from a good breeder sounds expensive, that cost will pale in comparison to what you will spend on food, vet bills, toys, bedding, grooming, over the life of the dog.
If you want to get a "cheap" dog, the price you pay for the long run could even out over more visits to the vet. To me, its worth paying more for a dog that comes from a very good breeder, who gives you a health guarantee vs paying less for some dog where its genetic lines cannot be confirmed (i.e. pet store). Good breeders spend a lot of effort in maintaining healthy, good looking lineages. If you have done lots of research you would have figured that out, along with the fact that you should avoid buying dogs from pet stores.
Good luck!
- #10
- setell
- Deal Fanatic
-
- Sep 13, 2005
- 6838 posts
- 358 upvotes
- Ottawa
Feb 27th, 2011 5:02 pm
^ +1 Geeze and I'm going to import my next maltese puppy from the US as local breeders (3+ hrs away) aren't what I am looking for. I know I will be driving 5+ hours for my future maltes from the US! Oh and a $1000 - $2000dog is expensive??!!!!
You don't want to know to know how much maltese go for then as they are min. 2k for any decent linage dog. Most are 3-4k!!!!!!! To me $3k for 10-15 years of very good health is so worth it! My last kitty cost us like $2k in one year for vet bills. She cost us roughly $5k (excluding daily care things like food, litter etc.) when she passed away. I got a friend that got a pom from the pet store. Two years later it died and they were 6k poorer trying to save the poor thing. So.....you get the idea as to how bad vet bills can get. Just be prepared to pay up when you get a pet!
- #11
- KonniXeoN
- Sr. Member
- Nov 7, 2006
- 656 posts
- 2 upvotes
Feb 27th, 2011 5:28 pm
- #12
- Raggie
- Deal Fanatic
-
- Jul 29, 2005
- 8794 posts
- 2727 upvotes
- Mississauga
Feb 27th, 2011 5:38 pm
Adorable! Looks like a teddy bear.
My food blog - Reggie The Food Critic.
- #13
- Siye
- Sr. Member
- Oct 24, 2007
- 937 posts
- 151 upvotes
- BC
Feb 27th, 2011 11:11 pm
Boo is freaken adorable. I can never get over how adorable Japanese dog hair cuts are. They have it down to an art.
- #14
- Crinkle_cut
- Deal Addict
- May 31, 2009
- 2623 posts
- 170 upvotes
Mar 1st, 2011 3:46 pm
waterbottle1234 wrote: ↑^I didn't say I wasn't willing to drive 3-6 hours, but yes, I would find it a hassle. Of course I'd rather find a breeder that's closer, especially if I would need to bring the puppy to see the breeder for whatever reason.
Oh actually I came across this breeder in my search. I'm so glad to hear your new puppy is such a joy! If you don't mind me asking, exactly how much did he cost? On the website, it said that pricing starts at $1500.
I think I paid $1600 or $1800 for him. This was 4 years ago, so dont remember the exact number. But the way he turned out, I would have paid 5k for him. He's a member of the family now.
- #15
- mom0luv
- Newbie
-
- Apr 29, 2011
- 25 posts
- Vancouver
May 1st, 2011 2:47 am
+1
Agreed. Pet store pups are usually puppy milled (Youtube and Google -- it's saddening)
You could always check your local Craigslist for breeders as well.
Girl, I can't feel my face. What are we smokin' anyway?
She said don't let the high go to waste. But can you taste, a little taste of
Novacane, baby, baby, novacane, baby
- #16
- 1V4N
- Deal Addict
-
- Oct 19, 2004
- 1877 posts
- 211 upvotes
- Dieppe, NB
May 2nd, 2011 12:31 am
DO NOT GO TO ANY STORE FOR A PUPPY!
DO NOT USE CRAIGSLIST OR KIJIJI.
If you are looking for Pom's please check out the official Pomeranian Club of Ontario for a list of reputable breeders:
http://onpoms.org/breeders.html
- #17
- conix67
- Deal Addict
- May 2, 2010
- 1646 posts
- 165 upvotes
- Toronto
Apr 22nd, 2013 9:25 am
OK, I'm willing to drive 3-4 hours for a good puppy. I'm willing to pay 2-3K for a good puppy. I'm ready to visit all breeders in Ontario before I make a decision.
However, I can't seem to find "white" pom that we're looking for from most breeders. Are the white poms that rare? I see them a lot on Kijiji and honestly it makes me keep looking at them (I will not purchase any from them, though)..
By the way, just found this site, does anyone have any experience or opinions about this place?
http://pomeranian.torontopuppiesforsale.com/
- #18
- conix67
- Deal Addict
- May 2, 2010
- 1646 posts
- 165 upvotes
- Toronto
Apr 22nd, 2013 9:41 am
Pomeranian owners, do you have any recommendations on where to go in finding a good Pomeranian puppy? Are the few breeders in Ontario the only option for a quality Pomeranian puppy in GTA?
- #19
- Beachdown
- Deal Fanatic
- Apr 23, 2009
- 5159 posts
- 692 upvotes
- South of Ottawa
Apr 22nd, 2013 1:00 pm
Pretty sure they're a broker and not a breeder.
Call the breeders that you've found and ask them about any plans to produce white poms. A good breeder will know the genetics of their dogs so will know which ones to breed to get specific colours.
- #20
- Notme666
- Jr. Member
-
- Jan 23, 2012
- 155 posts
- 53 upvotes
- Ilderton, ON
Apr 22nd, 2013 5:00 pm
conix67 wrote: ↑OK, I'm willing to drive 3-4 hours for a good puppy. I'm willing to pay 2-3K for a good puppy. I'm ready to visit all breeders in Ontario before I make a decision.
However, I can't seem to find "white" pom that we're looking for from most breeders. Are the white poms that rare? I see them a lot on Kijiji and honestly it makes me keep looking at them (I will not purchase any from them, though)..
By the way, just found this site, does anyone have any experience or opinions about this place?
http://pomeranian.torontopuppiesforsale.com/
Yup, they they definitely look like puppy mill brokers. Stay far away! There have been threads here on similar brokers for other breeds, like this one has-anyone-heard-anything-about-perfect ... s-1175820/. There was another one called Purdy Puppies as well.
You shouldn't need to go visit all the breeders in Ontario, but you should at least contact a few of them. I see quite a few within an hour or two of the GTA. http://www.pcoc.net/breeder-referral.htm
http://www.dogsincanada.com/wordpress/w ... ranian.pdf Do your research and go visit them before you actually buy. There are lots of articles out there like this one on how to select a good breeder. http://dogtime.com/good-dog-breeders-checklist.html
Beachdown wrote: ↑Pretty sure they're a broker and not a breeder.
Call the breeders that you've found and ask them about any plans to produce white poms. A good breeder will know the genetics of their dogs so will know which ones to breed to get specific colours.
+1 Ask the breeders about white. I don't see it listed as an acceptable colour for the breed standard, but I didn't look very hard. http://www.pcoc.net/about-poms.htm White dogs often have genetic problems such as deafness associated with the lack of colour. The breeders will have a definite opinion on whether white is appropriate for poms. Often breeding for something unnatural is not worth the genetic cost. As them what traits they are breeding for, since it may actually be more important than colour. Breeders are a huge wealth of information on their breed.
Good luck! Enjoy the search. The more breeders you go see, the more puppies you might get to hold.
Where I Can to Buy a Pomeranian Like Boo
Source: https://forums.redflagdeals.com/merged-where-buy-pomeranian-puppy-1007749/
0 Response to "Where I Can to Buy a Pomeranian Like Boo"
Enviar um comentário